The Foundation




Student of the Year Foundation on the occasion of its 22nd Awards Program.

The establishment of this Awards Program whose objective is to recognize the best and brightest primary school students throughout the length and breadth of our Commonwealth was indeed most visionary and filled an important omission in our system. The creation of the Foundation in 2004 to govern the affairs of the Awards Program was equally an important step in institutionalizing this event for which I commend you highly.

I am pleased to note that your organization has recognized some 2,300 students to date and has given over $1.3 million dollars in scholarships, cash and prizes. Further, it is most note worthy to learn that the first and second recipient of this award in 1997 and 1998 - Vashti Darling and Andrea Moultrie, a medical doctor and an attorney-at-law respectively, and many others have led successful careers in the various sectors of our economy and are making valuable contributions to this program and to the development of our beloved country.  I salute you on this most impressive accomplishment.

I note that the 2018 Bahamas Primary School Student of the Year Awards Program will recognize 121 students from public and private schools in New Providence Grand Bahamas and the Family Islands and will award some $200,000.00 in scholarship and prizes.

I congratulate and salute them on achieving this important recognition. It is indeed a testament to their hard work and perseverance and commitment to excellence. I commend the Foundation’s Board of Directors and the Nassau, Bahamas Pan-Hellenic Council for their partnership and commitment to this outstanding program.
I commend corporate Bahamas and all those who continue to support this program, the teachers and school administrators and parents for their commitment to the education of our young students our leaders of tomorrow.



The Rt. Honourable Hubert A. Minnus, M.P

Prime Minister of The Bahamas



































































© Copyright 2019 Bahamas Primary School Student of The Year Foundation